Blast From the Past; Mini-Game Link.

Posted: February 13, 2009 by Guy Shalev in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

So, for whatever reason, I was looking around some folders on my computer, and found something I’ve written a long time ago, as a "Positive Game". I didn’t remember writing it, and when I’ve read it, I was very impressed with some things in this game.

It’s not a full game, well, it is, but there isn’t much meat to it. It’s basically a frame-work that is aimed at being loose, and there is an interesting nugget or two here. It’s only 1,509 words, so it should be a breeze to read.

If you do read it, tell me whether you think it has anything of interest or worth-mining, and tell me if you think there isn’t. I’m not invested in it emotionally, heh.

Anyway, The Friendship Game (direct PDF link).

P.S. I should look at this game now that I’ve read Georg Simmel.

Comments
  1. Guy says:

    Adam Dray: Hey, your dice mechanism for Friendship… the chance of rolling 7+ goes up pretty quickly as you add dice. 58% with 2d6, 91% with 3d6, 99% with 4d6. Is that the curve you intended?
    Guy Shalev: More or less. It’s supposed to be happy and light-hearted. :: looks at the mechanics::
    Adam Dray: So (assuming no dark tokens come out) roughly 50/50 with a single token, almost guaranteed success with two tokens, and guaranteed success with three.
    Guy Shalev: I also wanted people to get Light Tokens all over the place.
    Guy Shalev: The game isn’t about “Succeeding”, it’s about “Doing things for which you gain light tokens”, so yeah.
    Guy Shalev: Though if someone does lift the engine, they should consider what the economy would do for them, and probably change it.
    Guy Shalev: An easy change would be to have the Dark Token raise it by 3.5 or 4.
    Adam Dray: One dark token raises the target from 7 to 9, so the probabilities become 28%, 74%, and 95%.
    Adam Dray: Two dark tokens: 8%, 50%, 84%.
    Adam Dray: Three: 0%, 26%, 66%.
    Adam Dray: So it’s probably fine.
    Guy Shalev: But overall, the game is all about getting light tokens, so you could be pretty sure you’d succeed, and then you’re empty, so must get more!
    Guy Shalev: More! πŸ˜€
    Guy Shalev: And that’s why it’s “The Friendship Game” and not “The Betrayal Game”, heh.
    Adam Dray: I like the mechanics. It’s fun and fast-playing.
    Guy Shalev: And it’s very… compartmentalized, you could use it as a complete “game”, or plug it into any design.
    Adam Dray: Right.
    Adam Dray: That’s why I wanted to do the math on the d6es.
    Guy Shalev: ::Nods::
    Guy Shalev: Feel free to mention me somewhere, though no need to, heh. :: smiles:: It can be nice to discover something you created long ago, because there is no urgency, there is no total emotional investment, and you can just sit back.
    Adam Dray: Mention you for which?
    Guy Shalev: If you see the need to mention to specific people my simple creation. I am not completely serious, so don’t mind me too much, heh.
    Adam Dray: πŸ™‚ If anyone is looking for a simple d6 resolution system, I will point them at TFG.
    Adam Dray: Really, I think it’s pretty elegant.
    Guy Shalev: Thank you πŸ™‚
    Adam Dray: I read it last year. I just wasn’t excited about the game concept. I totally missed the underlying beauty of the mechanic.
    Adam Dray: You should rewrite it as a game about punching prostitutes in the face and shooting cops, and you’d have people all over it.
    Guy Shalev: LOL
    Note, Adam’s name was supposed to appear in red, but for some obscure reason, two different Hexadecimal codes for shades of red showed as green, grrr.

Leave a Reply

