Suggest PS2 Games to Me!

Posted: July 30, 2008 by Guy Shalev in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I’ve just won a PS2 on eBay, please suggest games I should play!

I’m a big fan of RPGs, JRPGs, and Tactics game (Ala the whole GBA’s “Tactics” games, Final Fantasy Tactics Advance, Ogre Tactics: Knight of Lodis), etc.

I am going to get the following for sure:
Okami
Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 (Is getting the FES version that much better?)
Disgaea (1 or 2?)

Keep in mind my house-hold is getting an X-Box 360 very very soon, and I have a very high-end computer.

Thanks!

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    well you’ve already good Okami on your list, which is wise. i also highly recommend Shadow of the Colossus.

    • greyorm says:

      And along with Shadow…, pick up Ico.
      I’ll have to think and see if there are any games I can recommend that haven’t been already. If you want something to play on your computer, tactics-wise: get Myth the Fallen Lords.

      • Guy says:

        I’ve owned Myth: the Fallen Lords since it first came out.
        That’s why I was so gung-ho on Halo before Microsoft snatched Bungie up…
        I was also annoyed by it, since some levels seemed to have a bug in them, so you couldn’t progress to the next level even after scouring the level clean.
        Also, not interested in platformers πŸ™‚

      • greyorm says:

        I didn’t know you were a Myther! Awesome.
        Ico isn’t really a platformer. It’s a story-puzzle game, though there are certain “platform” elements. It’s an absolutely beautiful piece of work: it’s a damn piece of video-game artwork, honestly.
        Also, you know about the forthcoming Halo Wars, right? (and did you know that Bungie has parted from Microsoft now?)

      • Guy says:

        I didn’t know about the parting.
        I do know of Halo Wars, not too excited.
        I’d rather play my strategy games on the computer, heh.
        I am excited about The Last Remnant, Fable 2, Infinite Undiscovery, and Too Human, which is just around the corner.

  2. rob_donoghue says:

    The two RPG’s I would definitely plug:
    Final Fantasy X & Suikoden V
    If you can track down the original Final Fantasy Tactics (or a re-relase) then you totally should. The gameplay is familiar, but the story side is strong enough that it keeps people passionate for years.

  3. finaira says:

    I would recommend any of the Final Fantasy gamse, but I’m a fangirl, so take that with a grain of salt.
    Both Kingdom Heart games are quite good and if you are into platformers at all, you should be all over the Sly Cooper series (although the first one isn’t as good as the 2nd and 3rd games).

  4. I loved Kingdom Hearts πŸ™‚ I would recommend more, except I’m at work and don’t have access to my collection to see what other games you would like.

  5. amnesiack says:

    * Final Fantasy XII
    * Final Fantasy Tactics (though the PSP re-release is better, if you have a PSP)
    * Shadow of the Colossus
    If you like platformers at all, I highly recommend Psychonauts as well, but it’s also available for the Xbox and on Xbox Live for the 360.

  6. dolgee says:

    Although not quite the game type you asked for, but if you have a PS2, you simply must play God of War (1 and 2).

  7. Hmmm, personally I kinda found the Kingdom Hearts series a little.. slow moving?
    My favorite PS2 RPGs are:
    * Shadow Hearts: Covenant (Shadow Hearts II). This is THE BEST RPG for this console. Even in Japan, when it came out, it won awards continuously from fan sites and the like, it simply has the best combination of characters, story, gameplay, special abilities and the aquiring of special abilities, etc. Rasputin is even in it, as well as a princess Anastasia with a Soul Camera. Hands Down. Period. GET IT. You don’t need to have played the first one to play or understand at all (I never played the first: Only one character from the first is in the second). And beware the third one (From the New World) is absolute shit with no connection at all to the series, avoid!
    * Final Fantasy X
    * Persona 3: FES
    Others that ought to be on your list:
    *Katamari Damacy
    *We Love Katamari Damacy
    *Kuon (resident evil style game, set in Japan in 900AD with female sorcerer main characters (all three)). “Horror”.
    If you like horror/scare games, the best series in that line is the Fatal Frame/Zero series. Fatal Frame 1 and 2 are boss. Fatal Frame 3 is ok, the story is cool, it’s just a lot more complicated (perhaps needlessly so).
    *Resident Evil 3.
    If you mod it to play EU games, you need to get:
    Shinobido. Tenchu? What’s that? The original team behind Tenchu lost the rights to the game, so they came back with another ninja game even better than Tenchu. Plays out like a ninja Bourne Identity.
    Forbidden Siren 2: This, next to Shadow Hearts 2, is my hands-down favorite game for the PS2 console.

Leave a Reply

